Reinventing Richard: The Songs of Richard Fariņa

Omnivore Recordings (OVCD-144). September 11, 2015.
Running Time: 56:49

Iain Matthews - guitars, vocals
Andy Roberts - guitars, mandolin, bouzouki, dulcimer, drum/percussion/tanpura loops Mark Griffiths - bass, guitars, mandolin
Clive Gregson - guitar, background vocal

Iain Matthews has been a Fariņa fan and advocate since his days as a founder member of Fairport Convention, when they performed "Reno, Nevada" on a BBC appearance. Throughout his solo career and his group Plainsong he has continued to cover Fariņa songs, recording more of them than any other musician on either side of the Atlantic. As the fiftieth anniversary of Fariņa's death approached, Matthews decided to reuinte Plainsong, which had disbanded in 2008, to create this tribute to the songwriter that had influenced his career so much. The band injects the songs with fresh energy, deliberately abstaining from the dulcimer in order to approach the music in an original way. Reinventing Richard is a great collection of covers that includes not just familiar songs like "Pack up your Sorrows" but also some less celebrated Fariņa creations such as "Lemonade Lady" from Memories and even "Sombre Winds", a song that previously has been known to exist only as sheet music.

Thomas McKean, a long-time Richard & Mimi fan who contributes to this site, had written to Vanguard shortly after Fariņa's death asking if any other songs of his remained. Vanguard sent him the sheet music to three of Richard's songs. Decades later, after learning about Plainsong's tribute CD, Tom sent the sheet music to Iain Matthews, asking him to consider recording them. Thus the long-lost "Sombre Winds" was revealed to the world at last, on this musical labor of love.

  1.) The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood (Prelude)
  2.) Pack Up Your Sorrows
  3.) Sell-Out Agitation Waltz
  4.) One Way Ticket
  5.) Another Country
  6.) Lemonade Lady
  7.) Mainline Prosperity Blues
  8.) The Falcon
  9.) Almond Joy
10.) Hard Loving Loser
11.) Michael, Andrew And James
12.) Children Of Darkness
13.) Reflections In A Crystal Wind
14.) Sombre Winds
15.) The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood (Conclusion)

Press Release from Omnivore Records:


Back to Tribute Albums